never satisfied?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
chrisp
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

never satisfied?

Post by chrisp »

Hello all,

i've been playing the whistle for about two years now, and have learned quite a list of tunes. I can't seem to put it down, I'm really hooked and enjoy playing.
The problem is, no matter how well i learn a tune i'm never satisfied. It seems there is always at least one error even though i've played it one hundred times over or more. I don't suppose a non whistler would always notice, but i feel sometimes I'M NEVER GOING TO GET THERE.
any advice?
Nanohedron
Moderatorer
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Been a fluter, citternist, and uilleann piper; committed now to the way of the harp.

Oh, yeah: also a mod here, not a spammer. A matter of opinion, perhaps.

Re: never satisfied?

Post by Nanohedron »

chrisp wrote:Hello all,

i've been playing the whistle for about two years now, and have learned quite a list of tunes. I can't seem to put it down, I'm really hooked and enjoy playing.
The problem is, no matter how well i learn a tune i'm never satisfied. It seems there is always at least one error even though i've played it one hundred times over or more. I don't suppose a non whistler would always notice, but i feel sometimes I'M NEVER GOING TO GET THERE.
any advice?
There's the tale of an aspiring piper who happened to be offered by the fairies the choice of playing to please oneself, or to please others. He chose that his playing should please himself, and it was glorious, but the flipside was that his playing did nothing for the people. He eventually felt isolated and depressed, and asked if he could switch wishes; it was granted. Now everyone raved about his playing and he never lacked for work or praises, but the flipside in THIS case was that he would never, ever be pleased with his own playing. Ever.