Frustration!

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
paulsdad
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Frustration!

Post by paulsdad »

I am getting very frustrated with my progress in learning the whistle. I've been playing for about 10 years and have "plateaued" at a much lower level than I would like. I know and play about 40+ tunes and have learned most of them by downloading the sheet music off web sites such as Wild Dismay or the Session.

I probably do the best job on slow airs and waltzes, although I can get up to a moderate speed on selected jigs, reels, etc. I have pretty decent tone and it does sound like music when I play. People who don't know any better think I'm pretty good. I have played a few times in public. I think my main problem is with my speed, lack of ornamentation, etc. (Maybe lack of overall talent)

I live in the Winston-Salem, NC area and have not had much luck meeting other Celtic/ Irish musicians who are interested in playing together. I would also really like to find a music teacher who can help me get "over the hump".

Several months ago I purchased the "Complete Irish Whistle Tunebook" that comes with the 6 CD's. Each tune is featured on the CD as a practice version and a performance version. Generally, even the practice version is too fast or has a ton of ornamentation. The author is very blasé about being able to learn all 120+ tunes, "so that one will have the basics to participate in a session". I figure it will take me about 10 years to work my way through the book.

I have read that Irish music is supposed to be learned by ear, and I can play some tunes that way. Most of the performers I have heard play their music blisteringly fast with lots or ornamentation. My ear isn't talented enough to pick up the tunes that way.

Any suggestions?

Paulsdad
anniemcu
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10
Location: A little left of center, and 100 miles from St. Louis