Overwhelmed by McCullough book

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Bartleby
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Overwhelmed by McCullough book

Post by Bartleby »

I just got the L.E. McCullough book and CD package "The Complete Irish Tinwhistle Tunebook" yesterday. I really like it, but I'm a little overwhelmed by the quantity (4 CDs) of tunes it contains. Being relatively new to IrTrad, I'm unfamiliar with most of the tunes. For those of you who have it, what are some of your favorite tunes from the book?
arnie
antispam: No

L.E. McCullough

Post by arnie »

I don't have the book, I have a very old tutorial by L.E. McCullough. I'm also new to playing seriously. I've found someone who teaches me to play the basics well, that's I think much better than learning things from a book. Sean Cunningham has a free online tutorial with short films learning you how to play certain techniques.
The tunes I've learned so far and that aren't too difficult are The Sixpenny Bit (or Sixpenny Money), Morrison's Jig, The Humours Of Whiskey, an air called Southwind and my favorite so far Maid At The Spinning Wheel. I don't know if there's any of these in your book.
scheky

Post by scheky »

Honestly, it's a great set of tunes. You could do worse than starting at the beginning though.

If I recall, he starts with the Swallow's Tail. Great tune, not all that difficult and fun to play. From there, listen to the CDs and learn what appeals to you.
Baglady

Re: L.E. McCullough

Post by Baglady »

arnie wrote: Sean Cunningham has a free online tutorial with short films learning you how to play certain techniques.
Where?
Baglady
Put the music under thier feet and lift them to the dance.
Oh, and,
"If you want to play chords, use standard tuning. It is better." --Martin Carthy
arnie

Post by arnie »