The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Fe2
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Fe2 »

I'm in that frustrating position of being a whistle newbie, and I'd appreciate advice and suggestions. I've tried for days to contact several dealers (Whistle Shop and Whistle and Drum) with no luck whatsoever. Numerous telephone calls only turned up busy signals to the point where I'm convinced their phone is off the hook. Of course I recognize that getting started in any new area is usually difficult because you have no idea where to start and how to get involved. As a newbie I'm merely seeking advice on make of whistle to begin with, a recommendation for a good tutor book and CD and whatever else I might need. I should mention that I have a Generation D and a Susato D. I'm not nuts about either one. I think it makes more sense to start with a decent instrument that is forgiving of beginner's mistakes rather than an instrument that only magnifies mistakes. Your help is appreciated.
crookedtune
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by crookedtune »

Hello, FE2, and welcome!

I'm surprised that you had trouble getting through to those businesses, as they are usually very good to work with, or so I'm told.

My advice is not to be too critical of your low-end whistles right away. It's possible that you got a 'clunker' Generation, but most of them are quite good for the money, and the Susatos are consistently good. It takes a while to get some technique and control, but you'll be surprised how good both of those whistles can sound.

If you really do want to move up, the only high-end whistle I'm familiar with is the Sweetheart Pro D, which is a 'Dymondwood', (birch laminate). It's made by Ralph and Walt Sweet, at www.sweetheartflute.com. A number of dealers carry them. I think it's great, and I do prefer it over my cheapies, although many others never feel a need to move up.