Old Whistles??

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
dwinterfield
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Old Whistles??

Post by dwinterfield »

Good morning

I'm new to C&F and new to playing the whistle.

While playing the whistle is new to me, I've had the "collecting" gene all my life. I already have 1/2 dozen inexpensive whistles and will be back looking for guidance on more whistles. It is fun to see how much better the whistles get, the more I practice. I am curious. Are there antique (75yr old) whistles out there and do they still play well. How do they compare to today's whistles?

Thanks for the fine site.
BillChin

Post by BillChin »

Good morning and welcome.

I bought an old whistle off eBay for a couple of bucks. I estimate it to be about 40 or 50 years old. The seller said it came from the estate of a music teacher that passed away. The whistle was tin and conical with a wood fipple, like a Clarke classic, but was not a Clarke. The old whistle played okay, being in tune, but was quiet and required lots of air, even quieter and more air than my Clarke classic. The old whistle was okay as a practice whistle, but not really suited for much else. I keep it in a bag on my bicycle and lost it when the entire bike was stolen.
+ Bill
vomitbunny
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by vomitbunny »

That sounds like a cooperman.
When an old gen goes on ebay, it usually gets a fair amount of bids.
My opinion is stupid and wrong.
chas
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by chas »

The nicest whistle I ever played was over 100 years old. It was solid silver, not sure which alloy, very heavy, and in the key of F or G. It was perfectly in tune, with a pure but not recordery sound, very metallic. I offered my right arm for it, but the guy had one already, plus he was just restoring the whistle for a customer.
Charlie
Whorfin Woods