Whitecap on a Generation Brass D

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
rkottke
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Whitecap on a Generation Brass D

Post by rkottke »

:D I am strongly considering getting a Whitecap for one of my Generation Brass D whistles. I currently have one sweet untweaked and two tweaked brass Generation D whistles. One of the tweaked plays nicely and other I 'over' tweaked. Since the 'over' tweaked whistle played so-so before I over tweaked the fipple, I am considered getting the Whitecap for it. The barrels on all three whistles have never been modified, and as close as I can measure, they are identical. I would like to get other's opinions of replacing the over tweaked fipple with the Whitecap.
WilliamC
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Whistle and flute player. I've been playing for about 15 years now.
I am addicted to Chiff and Fipple. I access this site at least once a day.

Post by WilliamC »

I highly recommend that you replace the fipple with a Whitecap. I did the exact same thing to a Gen D, sanded too much off the blade and made it unplayable. Replaced that fipple with a Whitecap and now I have a pure, sweet sounding whistle.
Chuck_Clark

Post by Chuck_Clark »

Go for it!

Be aware, owever, that the resultant combo will not be a Generation but a Hoover. From my POV, that's a fine thing, but not all agree.
meir

Post by meir »

the hoover, if you are not familiar, is very sweet but takes very little air compared to whistles you are familiar with. extremely easy second octave.

i strongly suggest that if you do it, you send mr. hoover the tube, rather than just ordering the whitcap and putting it on yourself. if macke does not have access to the tube the whitecap may not fit perfectly and will not be tunable in practice. also, he may fine tune the fipple if necessary.

meir
rkottke

meir

Post by rkottke »