Next progression from a Clark advice please

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Pammy
antispam: No

Next progression from a Clark advice please

Post by Pammy »

Hi all,

I am a beginner and know that I need to hone my breath somehow but I really want to play Si Bheag Si Mhor and I am finding the top notes rather harsh.

Is there a relatively cheap whistle that will be kinder to my ears on the top notes but without losing the low notes?

Please be kind as I am still a beginner.
Life is good!!!
Even when I am Miss Understood!!!
Moof
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: My motto: If a thing's worth doing, it's worth doing badly. (Fortunately, as otherwise I'd never be allowed near a musical instrument.)

Re: Next progression from a Clark advice please

Post by Moof »

Top A, B, and C# are always piercing, specially if you have to sustain them. It's true on any high D, and buying a better quality one can sometimes mean it's louder!

I'd start with ear plugs – I've always worn them for practice. I use Docs Pro Plugs nowadays, which are actually for swimming but also seem to knock the sharp edges off a whistle. You can still hear clearly, it's just a bit less 'ouch' when you have to repeat the same phrase over and over.

I'd also experiment with popping a mini paper clip into the window of the whistle (just balance it on the sound blade with the end sticking out through the window). This also mutes the volume a bit, at least on my whistle. If you find that awkward, you could try a sliver of bent metal or something. You're trying to partially obstruct the blade, whilst still allowing it to split the airstream well enough to sound. That kind of thing's useful if you want to practise late in the evening.

If you want to try another high D without spending a lot on it, maybe try a Dixon DX1004D? They're about £20, tuneable, not especially loud, and they warm up pretty much instantly.
Cyberknight