List of Ornamentations?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
*Cedar The Whistler*
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a composer, artist, photographer, musician, vegan, mountain unicyclist, and lover of life!!!
Create what you feel, share with the world, and be yourself always (:
New Youtube channel -Subscribe, thank you!

List of Ornamentations?

Post by *Cedar The Whistler* »

I don't know all of them but...
I was wondering if you guys could help me put together a list of ornamentations or a video of you doing them?

Here are some I know:

Cuts
Taps
Rolls
Slides
Crans
Tonguing

Thats all I know. If you know anymore, please post.
Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!
I'm a whistle player from California living the dream playing whistle in Dublin, Ireland.
Band member of the band Tradify (album out now, check it out)! Sláinte!
Gmail: cedardobsonmusic@gmail.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CedarDobsonMusic
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/@CedarDobsonMusic
awildman

Re: List of Ornamentations?

Post by awildman »

Tonguing combined with the first 5 on your list.
pancelticpiper
Tell us something.: Playing Scottish and Irish music in California for 45 years.
These days many discussions are migrating to Facebook but I prefer the online chat forum format.

Post by pancelticpiper »

First, a "slide" is a type of dance, so perhaps some other term could be used? In "legit" wind-playing it's called a "gliss" (glissando). You can bend notes up, or down. I've heard people call them "slides" and "glides" and "scoops" so there doesn't seem to be a standard term.

And all the varieties of finger vibrato/tremolo/flattement.

Yes "cuts" and "pats" (upper gracenotes and lower gracenotes). Cuts are usually single but there are double-cuts too.

Cuts and pats generate various rolls: short rolls, long rolls, double-cut long rolls to name three.